Defining Scantily Clad

I think I need to preface this with a few facts.  My name is mamaesme, I played volleyball so I’ve worn skimpy clothing before (spandex shorts anyone?), and this is an opinion.

Greyrondo and I had a conversation a while back about who I could cosplay, and she mentioned that I had that my boobs were a good fit for Yuuko from xxxHolic.  (Yes, we have frequent conversations like this.)  I had loved xxxHolic for a long time and was immediately taken with the idea.  I happened across the cover of book 14 and fell in love with the coins.  You see, I have a weakness for them.

So, I decided to do it.  I mean, I have the boobs, why not go for it?

I have since learned this:  A classy slutty look is hard to create.

If you know anything about Yuuko, she’s either one extreme or the other in the clothing department.  She is sexually confident and likes to stride around in either kimonos or what could pass as nightwear.  Making nightwear something you can wear in public, where children are present, is a bit of a challenge.

There is a fine line to walk in order to keep something from looking slutty when costuming.  Modify the design when you need to, because boobs do not need to pop out when little kids are running around.  Curve the top like a tank top, use lots of tape the day of, and make a built in bra in order to keep those girls in line.   (I’ll have more stories and diagrams when the mocking of Yuuko is finished.)

The same goes for skirts.  Wear pantyhose, for heaven’s sake, because, again, there are always little kids at cons.  I’ve seen perverts as well.  They are more than willing to stare at the girls or boys wearing little and displaying a lot.

If the costume calls for it, make sure the piece in question will lay flat or, again, modify it.  Most manga-ka aren’t thinking about how an outfit would look on a normal person when they draw it.  It’s up to you, as a cosplayer, to make sure it works in the real world.  (and to make sure you can’t get arrested by a cop for public indecency)

It takes a bit of work to look classy slutty, but the final product will look amazing and you’ll feel completely safe to walk around the con. Just keep a friend around to ward off the creepers.

In short: Cover up enough to make sure that you can’t get stopped by a cop.

About mamaesme

Cosplayer. Business Student. Fan of anything eclectic. View all posts by mamaesme

Leave a Reply

